Survey of Animation Project 1

Niklas Scheuerman

Jeremy Schwartz

9/17/14

Survey of Animation

Flip Book Write Up

 

Emile Cohl work is known for its quickness to shapeshift and not let the audience’s eyes rest on a single frame. He manages to tell a story in quick shapeshifting drawings. His first animation was Fantasmagorie, which was made in 1908. This portrayed multiple styles of animations including moving cut outs of paper and line drawings. The total amount of pages used for this single animation came out to be seven hundred. This particular animation he is most profoundly known for due to its new style of taking an image and then shifting and morphing it into another form or shape that is totally unexpected. Between 1908 and 1923 Emile Cohl ended up making over two hundred and fifty films. His other film he is widely known for is Hasher’s Delirium, made in 1911.

 

I chose Emile Cohl because of his style that separated him from the other animators. I really was drawn in by the quick succession of each image. The idea of these characters or objects morphing into illogical forms and other shapes created a mystical aura to his work and created a changing storyline. This shapeshifting style was what I was trying to capture in my flip book. I wanted to take an object and morph it in a way that would surprise the audience and provide a creative take on Emile Cohl’s style of animation. For example, I have an circle to set the stage of my flip book which then as the pages go by it soon turns into an eye and the flip book goes on like that with similar transformations. In my opinion I think I successfully captured the style that Cohl was known for. I shifted my images in illogical ways making the overall storyline abstract while still having an overall plot and some kind of goal that is reached in the end. The line drawings are basic like those of Emile Cohl. While I didn’t use up to seven hundred pages in my flip book and my story isn’t as complicated or quick as Emile Cohl’s animations, I still managed to capture the essence of abstract themes and a series of morphing and shifting images that blend together to form a story in the end. The only thing that I would have done differently is speeding up the changes and adding some more shapeshifting in my flip book.

Citations

“Emile Cohl.” Emile Cohl. 17 Feb. 2008. Web. 17 Sept. 2014. <http://thebioscope.net/2008/02/17/emile-cohl/>.


Edwards, Bobb. “Emile Cohl.” Findagrave.com. Find A Grave. Web. 17 Sept. 2014. <http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=7651&gt;.

This entry was posted in Time Based, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

